Savusavu Industrial Zone

The Savusavu Industrial Zone which is modeled on the Kalabu Tax Free Zone, Nasinu is a Government initiative to encourage investment in the Northern Division. The project started in 1997 as the Savusavu Tax Free Zone however, in 2001 when the Government ceased the Tax Free Zone and Tax Free Factory scheme, it became known as the Savusavu Industrial Zone. 

The zone is situated on a 16 acres freehold land at Balaga Bay. It comprises of 18 lots with an average size of 1,167 square meters, with roads, kerbs and footpath, sewerage systems, pump station, two FEA substations and water systems. Most of the infrastructural works have been completed such as telecom, road, water and sewerage. However the electricity facilities are yet to be upgraded at the site. Once this is completed, expressions of interest will be advertised for leasing of the lots.   

With the announcement of Vanua Levu and the maritime islands a tax free region, the Savusavu Industrial Zone will encourage further investment and complement Government’s Look North Policy.

MIT envisages completing all infrastructural developments by mid of 2012 following which Expressions of Interest will be put for sale/lease of the lots.

Infrastructural developments at the Savusavu Industrial Zone